2011 NM Filmmakers Showcase winners

And the winners are...

By New Mexico Film Office

Topic Local Film

In June, The New Mexico Film Office announced the winners of the 2011 New Mexico Filmmakers Showcase. More than 50 local filmmakers from cities around the state submitted their work to the annual four-day event, which took place May 19-22 at the Guild Cinema in Albuquerque.

This video presents the work of the following winners:

Best Animation
"The Astronomer’s Sun" by Peter Kershaw (Santa Fe)

Best Comedy                   
"Energy Tap Out" by Adrien W. Colon (Albuquerque)

Best Drama                     
"Torcida" by Diego Joaquin Lopez (Espanola)

Best Horror/Sci-Fi       
"The Baby Monitor" by Jocelyn Jansons (Santa Fe) 

Best Wildcard                
"Shakespeare’s Women" by Rudy J. Miera (Albuquerque)

Best Music Video           
"I Can’t Wait" by Christopher Columbus (Albuquerque)

The award-winning documentary film, "Flamenco School", by Brent Morris/Reinhard Lorenz (Albuquerque), can be viewed here.