An exhibition of 52 drawings

The Renga Project

One year: 100 artists and poets




Ticket Info

Admission: Free

Event Description

The Renga Project began on the summer solstice, 2013. It's a new take on an ancient traditional  collaborative form of Japanese poetry. 52 weekly stanzas were written by a diverse group of New Mexico poets. We also invited 52 New Mexico artists to create a linked drawing with each artist responding to a writer's stanza. The poem has been displayed on a large sign in the Santa Fe Railyard all year, with new stanzas added weekly.

During the weekend of the 2014 summer solstice we will celebrate this year-long project.  On June 20, Axle Contemporary will open an exhibition of the drawings in our mobile gallery, and present the book with the entire collaborative poem and linked drawings.

On June 22 Axle Contemporary will present a group reading by the poets of the entire poem, a roundtable discussion, booksigning, and renga writing workshop at The New Mexico Museum of Art.

The New Mexico Museum of Art's curator of education, Ellen Zieselman will moderate the panel which includes Santa Fe Poet Laureate Jon Davis and Axle Contemporary project organizers and curators Matthew Chase-Daniel and Jerry Wellman.

Axle Contemporary will be parked at the Museum with the exhibition of Renga drawings.


Participating  artists:
Sam Scott, Terry Allen, Ron Pokrasso, Katherine Lee, Larry Bob Phillips, David Leigh, Gerry Snyder, Erika Wanenmacher, Eliza Naranjo Morse, David Nakabayashi, Luke Dorman, Gail Rieke, Celeste LaForme, Caity Kennedy, Karina Hean, Alexandra Eldridge, Ernest Bell, Juan Kelly, Cedra Wood, Rose Simpson, Joanne LeFrak, Rick Stevens, Elizabeth McNitt, SCUBA, Cannupa Hanska Luger, Peter Voshefski, Lisa de St. Croix, Debby Young, Greta Young, Claire Coté, Linda Swanson, Jeff Benham, Gina Trujillo, Kappy Wells, Todd Ryan White, Joel Nakamura, Jerry West, Robin Williams, Charlie Carrillo, Nina Mastrangelo, Jerry Wellman, Danny Green, Prakash, Fran Hardy, Janet Stein Romero, Betsy Emil, Lara Nickel, Gene Newman, Bart Johnson, Mark Spencer, Nina Elder, and Timothy Nero

Participating  poets:
Dana Levin, Jon Davis, Christopher J. Johnson, Malena Mörling,  Carol Moldaw,  Jane Lin,  Stephanie N. Johnson, Veronica Golos, Leslie Ullman, Will Barnes, Helena Andolsek, Gabe Gomez, Joanne Dominique Dwyer, Valerie Martinez, Sawnie Morris, Lauren Camp, Margaret Randall, Catherine Strisik, Jamie Ross, Ann Filemyr, Donald Levering, Ungelbah Davila, Elizabeth Jacobson, Jamie Figueroa ,Renée Gregorio, Miriam Sagan,  Joan Logghe, Sonja Bjelić, Joy Harjo, Paige Buffington, Amy Beeder, Matt Donovan, Chuck Calabreze, Lise Goett,  Sherwin Bitsui, Chee Brossy, Monty Little, Erin Bad Hand, Dora McQuaid,  Hakim Bellamy,  Jessica Helen Lopez, James Thomas Stevens, Jonathan Skinner,  Deborah Casillas, Henry Shukman, Britta Andersson, dg nanouk okpik, Connie Voisine, Carmen Gimenez Smith,  Richard Greenfield, and Greg Glazner