Santa Fe Community College Student Writing Awards Celebration




Ticket Info


Event Description

The Student Writing Awards is a campus-wide writing contest with poetry, fiction, personal essay, and academic essay categories. Winners and runners-up receive cash prizes and, along with honorable mentions, are published in the college’s journal Accolades and invited to read at the celebration. About fifteen readers will read for three to five minutes each. In addition to this marvelous showcase of the talents and lives of SFCC students, the Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship, honoring the author of Red Sky at Morning, will be presented.

Santa Fe Community College's emerging writers will showcase their work during the Student Writing Awards Celebration on Thursday, May 9 at 6 p.m. at Collected Works Bookstore, 202 Galisteo Street. The winner of  a scholarship created in memory of author Richard Bradford also will be announced.

More than a dozen writers will read from their winning works in the categories of Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction/Personal Essay and Academic Essay. Accolades, a booklet containing the winning works, will be available at the event and online at<>.

"This is a chance for the public to meet some of SFCC's most talented writers and gain an intimate view of their worlds," said Assistant Professor Daniel Kilpatric. "The purpose of the Student Writing Awards is to recognize the quality of writing being produced by SFCC students and to celebrate their voices."

In addition, the winner of the Richard Bradford Creative Writing Scholarship of the GROW SFCC Foundation will be announced. The scholarship, initiated by author Michael McGarrity, local arts advocate Charmay Allred and City Councilor Rebecca Wurtzburger, is named for Bradford, author of Red Sky at Morning, who resided in Santa Fe until his death in 2002.

These are this year's winners by category:
Winner: Doug Bootes
Runners-Up:  Martin Herrera, Marie-Claude Krawcyzk
Honorable Mentions:  Dave Cecil, Doug Bootes, Libby Hall, Isabel McGowan, Aragon Smith, Antonio Herrera
Winner:  Dana Garza
Honorable Mentions:  Neda Vesselinova, Natalie Walden
Personal Essay
Winner: Heather Burrell
Runners-Up: Dave Parlato, Jennifer Love
Honorable Mentions: Christa Swanson, Dioly Piedrahita, Allene Sewards, Maryellen Doyle, Anastasija Bilnova
Academic Essay
Winner:  Aragon Smith
Honorable Mentions:  Neda Vesselinova, Daniel Ellis-Green

Winners whose names appear more than once submitted more than one writing sample. The awards are sponsored by SFCC's Office of Student Development, School of Liberal Arts & Core Studies and the GROW SFCC Foundation.

For more than 29 years, Santa Fe Community College has been the gateway to success for individuals and the community by providing affordable, high quality educational programs that serve the social, cultural, technological and economic needs of a diverse community. The college serves more than 15,000 students per year in its credit, noncredit and adult basic education programs. For further information, visit or call (505) 428-1000. Follow us:  SFCC on Facebook<>, SFCC on Twitter<>.