Lannan Announces 2014-15 Season: Includes Talk by Noam Chomsky

Date August 26, 2014 at 2:08 PM

Author Allison Peacock

Publication SantaFe.com

Categories Authors & Literature Community Culture Education Lectures & Workshops

Advertisement

Noam Chomsky will speak at the Lensic March 18, 2015.

Lannan announced its 2014-2015 progam lineup, Tuesday. The events are part of Lannan's annual speaker series that focus on art, literature and social change.

This year's schedule includes nationally and internationally recognized poets and writers who read and discuss their work as a part of Lannan's Readings & Conversations series. Speakers also include philosophers, writers, scholars and social justice activists who will discuss political, economic, environmental and human rights issues, which is part Lannan's popular In Pursuit of Cultural Freedom lecture series. Each lecture is moderated by some of the leading voices in media, literature and social action. This year's moderators include Amy Goodman, David Barsamian and others.

All talks take place at the Lensic. More details can be found at the Lannan website.

Here is the schedule:

Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Alfredo Corchado with Melissa del Bosque

Friday, October 10, 2014
Max Blumenthal with Amy Goodman

Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Alice McDermott with Michael Silverblatt

Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Ann Jones with Andrew Bacevich

Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Gary Shteyngart with Mary Karr

Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Karen Russell with Porochista Khakpour

Wednesday, February 4, 2015
The Fire This Time: Tribute to James Baldwin, with Nikky Finney, Randall Kenan, Kevin Young

Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Kevin Barry with Ethan Nosowsky

Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Noam Chomsky with David Barsamian

Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Ta-Nehisi Coates

Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wallace Shawn with Michael Silverblatt

Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Naomi Klein with Katharine Viner

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Claudia Rankine with Saskia Hamilton

Advertisement